Erasmus+ is the EU programme for Education, Training, Youth and Sport for the period from 2014 to 2020 that aims to advance skills and employability, as well as to modernise Education, Training and Youth work. It provides opportunities for studying, training and establishing cooperation between higher education institutions from programme countries and partner countries.

Programme countries: EU Member States, Northern Macedonia, Iceland, Turkey, Norway, Liechtenstein and Serbia*

* As of the General Call for 2019 Republic of Serbia has the status of a Program country within the Erasmus + program.

Partner countries: All other countries throughout the world.

Promotion and implementation of Erasmus+ programme in Serbia, as far as education parts are concerned, is delegated to the National Erasmus+ office in Serbia.

The Erasmus+ programme consists of three key actions and two separate parts - Jean Monnet and Sport.

Key Action 1 - Learning mobility of individuals

Academic exchange: mobility projects can be submitted by HEIs from Programme countries that include cooperation with higher education institutions in partner countries with national accreditation.

All participating Programme Country organisations (both sending and receiving) must be HEIs awarded with an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education. All Partner Country organisations must be HEIs recognised by competent authorities and have signed inter-institutional agreements with their Programme Country partners before the mobility takes place.
HEIs from Serbia participating in mobility projects between Programme Countries are obligated to sign Inter-institutional agreement 2014-20 between Programme Countries with HEIs from other Programme Countries.
HEIs from Serbia participating in mobility projects between Programme and Partner Countries are obligated to sign Inter-institutional agreement 2014-20 between Programme Countries and Partner Countries with HEIs from Partner Countries.

Following activities are supported by KA1 mobility projects:

Student Mobility:
  • Student mobility for studies from 3 to 12 months
    The study period abroad must be part of the student's study programme to complete a degree at a short cycle, 1st cycle (Bachelor or equivalent), 2nd cycle (Master or equivalent) and 3rd (doctoral cycle).

    A study period abroad may include a traineeship period as well, either one activity after the other or both at the same time. The combination follows the funding rules and minimum duration of study mobility.

  • Student mobility for traineeships from 2 to 12 months (wherever possible, the traineeships should be an integrated part of the student's study programme).
    Traineeships ca be conducted in an enterprise or any other relevant workplace1. This includes Digital Opportunity Traineeships for students and recent graduates to further develop or acquire digital skills2. Traineeships abroad at a workplace are supported during short cycle, first, second, third cycle studies and, in the case of mobility within Programme Countries, within a maximum of one year after the student’s graduation. This also includes the 'assistantships' for student teachers.
Staff Mobility:
  • Teaching periods - staff deliver teaching at another HEI abroad. Staff mobility for teaching can be in any subject area/academic discipline (minimum of 8 hours of teaching per week).

  • Training periods - staff undertake a training event or undergo job shadowing/observation

    This activity supports the professional development of HEI teaching and non-teaching staff as well as the development of involved institutions. It may take the form of training events abroad (excluding conferences) and job shadowing/observation periods/training at a partner HEI, or at another relevant organisation abroad. A period abroad can combine teaching and training activities.

    Funding can be used to support staff engaged in both HEI teaching (minimum of 8 hours of teaching per week) and non-teaching activities. Staff mobility activities can last from 2 days to 2 months, excluding travel time.

Joint Master Programs: Higher education institutions from Serbia can participate in projects for development of joint master programmes together with higher education institutions from the EU countries as partners.

Key Action 2 - Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices

Institutions from Serbia can take part in all types of Erasmus+ Key Action 2 projects, as partners, or as coordinators of projects.

Capacity Building Projects for Higher Education: HEIs from Serbia can participate as partners or coordinators of such projects;

Knowledge Alliances, Sectoral Skills Alliances and Strategic Partnerships: HEIs from Serbia can participate as partners or coordinators of such projects.

Key Action 3 - Support for policy reform

Serbia can take part in Erasmus+ Key Action 3 projects supporting policy reform aimed at the achievement of the goals set in the Europe 2020 Strategy, Strategic Framework for European Cooperation in Education and Training (ET 2020) and European Youth Strategy.

Jean Monnet

The Jean Monnet Actions are targeted to promotion of excellence in teaching and research in the field of European Union studies worldwide. Institutions from Serbia can participate in all types of Jean Monnet projects, similar to institutions from all over the world.

  • For Erasmus+ mobility projects within Key Action 1 - Learning mobility of individuals contact the International Relation Office:, +381 34 300 345

  • For cooperation within other parts of the Erasmus+ program (KA2, KA3, Joint Master Programs, Jean Monnet Actions) contact the International Project Office:, +381 34370171, extension 124